Thoughts

“We should go sometime!” and Other Sad Facts

we should go some time long

I am in pain every time I remember how little time I have left in Korea. The list of things I still want to do taunts me with its impossible length and the calendar jeers at me, reminding me of my impending departure.

I don’t think about it all of the time, since I’m trying to cherish the days that I do have left, but there are four words that come up two or three times a day that jerk me back to that cruel reality.

“We should go sometime!”

These words can pop up in any conversation at any time and usually follow sentences like “I just went to this great restaurant in Gangnam”, “I heard about this awesome hiking trail that’s only a half hour away”, “I found this super cheap clothing store that you’d love”, “I hear that museum exhibit is really cool” and just about anything that reminds me that I’ve only just scratched the surface of Seoul.

Any time someone says this I enthusiastically reply “Yeah! For sure” until my voice trails off as I remember that “sometime” has to be within the next 11 days, and I have classes on six of those days and final exams on three of them.

Something that does make me want to get home as fast as possible is the fact that my sister is returning from her year-long internship in South Africa. I visited her in March for a week but this time, we’re actually going to be living in the same country. I absolutely cannot wait to have her home, and the few days I have back in Albany before I head back to school will be spent following her around wherever she goes until we’re sick of each other. We have some lost time to make up for.

I do miss my Albany friends and I miss my family (especially my dad who I haven’t seen since I left in early June), and I am very excited to get back to Georgetown (I’ve made friends here with a class of 2017-er and an impending transfer student and have been effusive about how amazing school is), but it’s hard not to feel like I’m leaving so many things unfinished here in Korea.

I refuse to dwell when I still have a week and a half left, but it really is quite amazing how time flies. I’m going to 경복궁 (the Gyeongbokgung Palace) on Friday after my English tutoring lesson, I’ll be waking up at 6am for a full-day trip to 군산 (Gunsan), and will be hiking up to the spring at Daeseongsa Temple up Mt. Umyeonsan on Sunday.

This is all for now, but stay tuned for more frequent blog posts because this next week is going to be packed with stuff to tell you about!

Leave a Reply

